Join WhatsApp ChannelJoin Now
 Join Telegram ChannelJoin Now

Mohammad Shami’s injury has made way for Umran Malik in India’s squad for Bangladesh ODIs

Shami’s replacement named in India’s squad for Bangladesh ODIs


India news

Fast bowler Umran Malik will replace Mohammad Shami in India’s 17-man squad for their three-match ODI series against Bangladesh, beginning on Sunday.


Shami, who injured his shoulder during a training session, has been kept under supervision of the BCCI Medical Team at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.


23-year-old Umran Malik who has replaced him, made his ODI debut last month in New Zealand, picking up three wickets in as many matches. The young pacer shot to fame in the Indian Premier League this year after bowling consistently over the 150kph mark.


There are four other fast bowlers in the side apart from Malik – Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar, and the uncapped Kuldeep Sen, another IPL find.


Hosts Bangladesh have their own injuries to tackle with as regular captain Tamim Iqbal is out with a Grade 1 strain on his right groin and will be led by Litton Das.



The first two ODIs will take place in Dhaka on the 4th and 7th, followed by the third game in Chattogram on the 10th. A two-Test series follow the ODIs from 14 to 26 December.


India’s squad for Bangladesh ODIs: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik



ODI Schedule:


1st ODI – Sunday, 4 December, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka


2nd ODI – Wednesday, 7 December, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka


3rd ODI – Saturday, 10 December, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram


Install Our App

Join our Telegram

follow us on